Hospitals – Meals

Daily meals

Muslims are required to follow a halal diet. Halal means lawful and is used to designate food which is permitted in Islam. Those which are prohibited for Muslims are called haram.
– Permitted are: meat and derivatives of animals that have been slaughtered according to Islamic obligations, seafood, dairy products, eggs, vegetarian foods
– Not permitted are: pork and any other by-product, meat and derivatives not slaughtered according to Islamic obligations, and alcohol

In practice, each hospital has its own approach regarding providing meals for patients with special requirements. The following categories have been used to display the information on our Maps and List:
– Meals satisfying religious and/or cultural requirements are available
– Vegetarian or vegan meals are available
– Food can be brought from home if done safely (refer to hospital guidelines)
– Dietary requirements are considered
– Other types of meals are available
– Unknown

Fasting in Ramadan

Fasting is an integral part of Islam and is seen as a means of purifying the body and the soul. During Ramadan, Muslims are not permitted to eat or drink anything (including water) from dawn until dusk. It is a practice for Muslims to consume a pre-dawn meal before fasting during the day.

While fasting during the month of Ramadan is compulsory for all healthy, adult Muslims, the young, old or sick are excused from fasting if it could be detrimental to their health. Pregnant, breastfeeding or menstruating women, and people who are experiencing a temporary illness are exempted from fasting, but must make up for the fast at a later date.